Saturday, June 23, 2012

AFL Announces 2012 Hall Of Fame Finalists

After tallying the nominations sent in by the AFL Hall of Fame Advisory Board, ten finalists have been named for the 2012 AFL Hall of Fame Class.
“Last year, we named the first AFL Hall of Fame Class since 2002. Because of such a long hiatus and the rich pool of finalists, we inducted all ten,” Kurz said. “We have a tremendous group of finalists this year, but only a select group will be inducted.”
2012 Hall of Fame Finalists include: QB SHERDRICK BONNER, the Greatest Quarterback in AFL History according to the Silver Anniversary Committee in 2012; HC MIKE DAILEY, a two-time ArenaBowl champion coach (XIII, XIX); QB CLINT DOLEZEL, a three-time All-Arena selection and a passing leader of the AFL for four years; WR/DB RANDY GATEWOOD, a six-time All-Arena selection and three-time All-Ironman selection; WR/LB DARRYL HAMMOND, a four-time All-Ironman selection; current Iowa Barnstormers HC MIKE HOHENSEE, who won ArenaBowl XX as a Head Coach and owns the third spot in AFL history for most regular season wins (135), WR/LB GREG HOPKINS, a four-time All-Arena and All-Ironman selection; FB/LB BOB McMILLEN, a three-time ArenaBowl Champion; FOUNDING PARTNER WILLIAM NIRO, one of the original founders of the AFL; and DB CLEVAN THOMAS, a five-time All-Arena selection and 2002 Rookie of the Year and two-time Defensive Player of the Year.
The AFL Office received ballots from the Hall of Fame Advisory Board, which consisted of a rich list of journalists and executives with a long-time involvement in the game, on Wednesday, June 20.
Each member selected ten candidates based on AFL contribution in the categories of players, coaches, administrators, officials and “at-large.”
In order to be nominated for the 2012 Hall of Fame Class, candidates must meet four criteria. If a player was active before 1989, he must have played for two seasons. For players after 1989, three seasons of service are required. All players must be retired for three complete seasons. Coaches must have been active for a minimum of five seasons and need not be retired.
Fans and current Hall of Fame members will vote on the finalists beginning on Monday, June 25, 2012. Votes will then be turned into the Hall of Fame Operating Board of Directors, who will officially select the 2012 AFL Hall of Fame Class.
The 2012 Hall of Fame Class will be announced during ArenaBowl XXV in New Orleans and inductions will be held during the Arena Football League’s 2013 opening weekend.

No comments:

Post a Comment