Thursday, December 13, 2012

IFL's Top Running Back Signs with Titans

Titans fans may remember last season's Green Bay Blizzard's RB Laron Council running up and down the field against the Titans. This season Titans fans will be rooting for Council as he will be a member of the 2013 Titans. The Titans announced Thursday that Council has agreed to play for Cedar Rapids.
In 2012 Council broke the Indoor Football League single-season rushing record, rushing for 1,040 yards in the regular season. Council is one of only eight players in the history of indoor football to rush for over 1,000 yards in a season, and is the first to do so since current Buffalo Bill RB Fred Jackson did so in 2005.
In addition to setting the all-time rushing record, Council set IFL records in rushing attempts, yards and touchdowns one season ago earning him First Team All-IFL honors. He finished the regular season with 1,040 yards, 32 rushing touchdowns, and 202 total points breaking multiple Green Bay Blizzard records. He also set Blizzard single game records with 148 rushing yards on June 16th and five rushing touchdowns on June 8th
The 5'10" 210lbs. Northwest Missouri State product is entering his third season in the IFL. His professional career started when he was brought in by the Minnesota Vikings for mini camp workouts, but was later released before the start of training camp. After the Vikings, Council signed with the La Crosse Spartans in 2010. As a Spartan, Council saw action in all 14 games, carrying the ball 177 times for 640 yards and 13 touchdowns. On the receiving end, Council had 30 catches for 220 yards and four touchdowns.
At Northwest Missouri State, Council led all of Division II with 35 touchdowns in 2008 and was third in the nation with 1,739 yards. That season, Council was named to the Third Team Little All-American team which is the top selection of players in Division II, III, and NAIA.
In his 2009 senior campaign, Council ran for 1,782 yards and 22 touchdowns, both good for fourth-best in the country. He was named the MIAA Offensive Player of the Year and was a finalist for the Harlon Hill award (Most Valuable Player in Division II) while leading the Bearcats to the school's third national championship. He completed his career as the school's second-leading rusher all time with 4,044 yards and 59 TD's.

No comments:

Post a Comment